Norwegian counties



Akershus (from old Norse akr, field, and house, castle or Kastell) is a Norwegian county, which borders against Hedmark, Oppland, Buskerud, Oslo and Østfold. It consists of two distinct parts. Municipalities of Asker and Bærum constitute a eksklave between Oslo and Buskerud. After Oslo, Akershus Norway's second largest county by population, with about half a million inhabitants.



Aust-Agder is a county in Norway which border Telemark, Rogaland and Vest-Agder. The coastline bordering on the Skagerrak. The county administration is located in Arendal municipality. Aust-Agder county equivalent in essentially the area that until 1918 had the name Nedenes amt.



Buskerud is a Norwegian county, which borders against Akershus, Oslo, Oppland, Sogn og Fjordane, Hordaland, Telemark and Vestfold. The name comes from the farm Buskerud (Old Norse: Biskupsruð, "Bishop Rydningen") in Modum, as in the 14. century belonged to Hamar bishop.



Finnmark (Sami Finnmárkku fylka) is Norway's northernmost county and largest in the area, but the smallest in population. It borders of Troms in the west, to Lapland in Finland in the south and to the Murmansk oblast in Russia in the east. The name of the county means every country. Vadsø's administration center in Finnmark. Norwegians have long lived in Finnmark and constitute the predominant majority of the population, but Finnmark are often associated with the Finns and the Sami, both coastal Sámi and Sámi.



Hedmark county is located in Norway, more specifically in Eastern Norway. Hedmark border Sør-Trøndelag in the north, Oppland and Akershus in the west to the south. In the east boundaries Hedmark to Värmland and Dalarna län of Sweden. Administration Center is Hamar.



Hordaland is a county on the west coast of Norway, which borders to the Sogn og Fjordane in the north, Maharashtra in the south, Buskerud and Telemark in the east. Hordaland is number three in Norway in the population with 469 681 inhabitants and number nine in the area with 15 440 km ².

More & Romsdal


Møre og Romsdal is one of 19 counties. It is located on the north-west and is bordered to the east to South-Trøndelag, in south-east of Oppland and in the south-west to the Sogn og Fjordane.



Nordland is a county administration center in Bodo. County boundaries to the neighboring counties of Troms in the North and North-Trøndelag in the south. In the east, borders the county to the Swedish lenene Norrbotten and Västerbotten län of Sweden. In the west the Nordland coast line against the Norwegian Sea and the Atlantic Ocean. Nordland consists of regions Helgeland, Salten, Lofoten, Vesterålen and Ofoten. The Arctic Circle runs through the county. County was formerly known under the name North Country amt.



Oppland is a Norwegian county, which borders to the South-Trøndelag, Møre og Romsdal, Sogn og Fjordane, Buskerud, Akershus, Oslo and Hedmark. It is an inland county, and the country's only that neither have a limit to the ocean or other countries.



Oslo (between 1624 and 1925 Christiania, from 1877/1897 also written Kristiania) is a city, a municipality and a county in Norway, as well as the country's capital and largest city. Town dating to the time around the year 1000 and was the capital of 1314. After a three-fire in 1624, the city's population comanded over to the west side of Bjørvika where the king's castle construction, Akershus fortress, was. The new town area was originally under the name Christiania, while the original Oslo maintained its name for an area outside the new town. Under byutvidelsen of the 1859 Oslo suburb was incorporated in Christiania, and from 1925, Oslo was again the name of the new capital.



Østfold is a county that is in the far south-east, in Norway in the region Østlandet. Østfold is the country's sixth most populous county, even if it is the third smallest. It borders to Sweden in the south and east in east Varmlands län, Västra Gotalands lan i Akershus in the south and north. Coast line against the Oslofjord in almost the whole west side, where the Vestfold is on the other side of the fjord.



Rogaland is a county in Western Norway, which borders to the north in Hordaland, Telemark, Aust-Agder and Vest-Agder in the east. Rogaland is Norway's fourth largest county by population, with its 420 574 inhabitants. In the Rogaland area is the thirteenth largest county. There are 26 municipalities in Rogaland and Stavanger is the city administration in the county.

Sogn and Fjordane


Sogn og Fjordane is a county on the west coast of Norway which stretches over 18 623 km ² and includes 26 municipalities divided in the three districts of Sogn, and Nordfjord Nordfjord to approximately 106 000 inhabitants. Sogn og Fjordane is the second smallest county in population and the eighth largest in the area. Hordaland county boundaries to the south, southeast of Buskerud, Oppland in eastern and Møre og Romsdal in the north. The three cities in the county, is Florø, Førde and Måløy. Administration Center is Leikanger.




Trondelag county borders in the north to the Nordland county, in the south from Hedmark and Oppland, in the west to the Moere og Romsdal and in the east to Jämtland län of Sweden. Administration Center and largest city is Trondheim.



Telemark (Bratsberg amt to 1919) is a Norwegian county, which borders against Vestfold, Buskerud, Hordaland, Rogaland and Aust-Agder.



Troms (Sami Romssa, Kven Tromssa) is the second northernmost county, located between south of Nordland and Finnmark in the north. The largest cities are Tromsø and Harstad. Troms only county that borders both Finland and Sweden.



Vest-Agder, Norway's southernmost county. It borders to the west in Rogaland, Aust-Agder in the east and north, and against the Skagerrak in the south. The coastline is 709 km long. The people are 164 759 (July 1, 2007). The county administration is mainly located in Kristiansand.



Vestfold is a county that borders against Buskerud and Telemark. It is the second smallest county, located west of the Oslo fjord. Population represents 4.7% of the country's total population. Vestfold is the third largest in Norway population density: 103 people per square kilometer. The county administration is located in Tønsberg, who is also the greatest commerce in the county.